This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Volume Variables in Advanced Alerts

Good evening,

I'm having some problems trying to utilize the volume variables in advanced alerts.  I'm running NPM version 9.5.1 as of about 3:00pm EST today. 

I was trying to create alerts for disk space left on the C: drive for my servers and each volume variable I try seems to echo itself when I test the alert.  For example, when I use the variable ${VolumeDescription}, the test alert shows ${VolumeDescription}, rather than the output it should give.

Has anyone ran into this in their environments?  I'm fairly new to Orion, so it could be something silly I'm doing wrong, but I cannot get this to work properly.  Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

• First, are you sure that under the Trigger Condition tab, of the Advanced Alert, you selected Type of Property to Monitor: Volume?

I just tetsted the same variable in my environment and it works. Are you using any other variables in your alert? Are they working?

• I was trying to create alerts for disk space left on the C: drive for my servers and each volume variable I try seems to echo itself when I test the alert.  For example, when I use the variable ${VolumeDescription}, the test alert shows ${VolumeDescription}, rather than the output it should give.

Change the variable to ${Volume.VolumeDescription} and see what you get. It could be a scoping issue.

• I am trying to do the exact same thing, trigger an alert based on a remaining percentage of a volume.  The issue I am having is that the alerts I receive are on both Disk space and RAM.  How do I report on just the Hard Drive Volumes?  TIA