This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

V9 Upgrades - Let's here the stories

Now that V9 is out I wanted to start a thread on how upgrades from 8.5.X to 9 have been going?  I'm especially interested in people running multiple pollers.

I'm going to wait a could weeks before I upgrade so the bleeding edge folks can work out any issues. ;-)

Good luck.

BB

• I went from 8.5 to 9 this morning. I run a custom poller for my APC NetBotz temp level. I also run Netflow V3 and Cirrus. I upgraded all of them to the latest and everything went great. I had to re-select my custom guages on node details in the web interface, no big deal. I also decided it was time to put in my new IP address ranges in NetFlow. All in all, painless.

• Hey fellas,

I'm a newbie here but I figured I'd contribute to the community and share my upgrade experience.  Took a hair over 30 minutes with ~6000 polled objects in my database on a Remote SQL server to upgrade.  Not a single error much to my surprise... everything looks fantastic.  For those of you who have installed modules and removed them and then suffered the dreaded "The NetFlow module banner is still on the web page" error, Orion v9 installation removes this.  It doesn't remove the Netflow service in my experience but it might be better for you.

In any event, v9 is great and I can't wait to give NetFlow V3 another chance.

Chris

• I'm glad to hear it worked for some of you - for me the upgrade process has been anything but painless..

During the 8.5.1 -> 9.0 upgrade process the installation hung with a database error - spend most of my day on the phone with solarwinds support to get it sortet out.