This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

UnDP Table Count?

I'm very new to NPM.  What I'm trying to create is an alert that will let me know if my VPN tunnel is not complete.  I have created a UnDP that is giving me the raw data to work with it looks like this:

pastedImage_0.png

What I want to do now is count how many rows have the data I'm looking for, for example 4237.21D2 would count 5 in my example above, then have SolarWinds alert me if that count is ever less than 5.  Is there a way to accomplish this?

Thanks!

• This is absolutely something that can be accomplished, but it will require some customization in the alert. I would recommend posting this over in the Alert Lab.

Basically, you're going to need a custom SQL alert that will count the # of times a specific value is provided from the dbo.CustomPollerStatusTable view. It's not that hard, but if you're not comfortable with SQL, you might need a little help.

• Zack,

Thanks for the pointer.  That got me on the right track.  I've gotten the right query written but now I'm wondering how to trigger when that query returns an unexpected result.  Do you know how to compare the return value in the query to create a trigger condition?

pastedImage_0.png

• Put a 'HAVING' clause on the end of that.

HAVING (Transact-SQL)

• My earlier post was in Alert Manager on the server, which it looks like to me is not the right place to try this?  This is my attempt using the Web Interface.  I tried adding HAVING to this but keep getting query condition is invalid if I try that.

pastedImage_0.png

• you need to do something like this:

select stuff
    from tableA

-----------------

join

(select count(1), b.key

from tableB

where b.column = "string"

group by b.key

having count(1) > 5