cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 10

Tweaking SQL server 2008 code to capture historical received percentage utilization of an interface

Hi Everyone,

Actually, I'm new to SolarWinds and SQL server 2008 commands. Currently, I use NPM 10.6. And, in my work environment, SolarWinds runs on Microsoft SQL server 2008.

Although, I stand corrected but I observed that the Orion Report Writer cannot capture historical percentage utilization of an interface, whether transmit or receive; instead, it can only capture current utilization. Please, I need help if capturing the historical one is possible.

Also, I have another challenge. I want to be able to generate reports concerning node and/or interface availability between, say 6:00am to 8:00pm each weekday only, that is, from Mondays to Fridays.

I tried doing it using the Orion Report Writer but all I can get under the Time Frame box is Last 7 days, Last Month, etc.  Please how do I go about it? Find below the code I wrote while trying to generate a new report and using the Advanced SQL report type.

DECLARE @StartDate DateTime
DECLARE @EndDate   DateTime

SET @StartDate = '2014-01-20'
SET @EndDate = '2014-01-24'

WHILE (@StartDate < @EndDate)

--- CASE (DATEPART(dw, @StartDate))

SELECT TOP 10000
Nodes.NodeID AS NodeID, Nodes.Caption AS NodeName, Nodes.Location AS Location, Interfaces.InterfaceName AS Interface_Name, AVG(Interfaces.InPercentUtil) AS Recv_Percent_Utilization, AVG(Interfaces.Inbps) AS Recv_bps, AVG(ResponseTime.Availability) AS AVERAGE_of_Availability, MIN(ResponseTime.MinResponseTime) AS MIN_of_Minimum_Response_Time, AVG(ResponseTime.AvgResponseTime) AS AVERAGE_of_Average_Response_Time, MAX(ResponseTime.MaxResponseTime) AS MAX_of_Peak_Response_Time

FROM
Nodes INNER JOIN Interfaces ON (Nodes.NodeID = Interfaces.NodeID) INNER JOIN ResponseTime ON (Nodes.NodeID = ResponseTime.NodeID)

WHERE 
(