cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post

Syslogs in NPM 12.5

Jump to solution

I've just started using NPM 12.5 and I've noticed that Syslog Viewer on the server is no longer available the way it was on the server.

How do I now forward a syslog message in an email? I can set an alert to trigger on a particular syslog but I can't see how to include the actual syslog in that email. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I also don't seem to have the export button. I am an admin, does anyone know how to make it appear?

pastedImage_0.png

Thanks!

1 Solution

If I'm understanding you correctly, this macro should include the syslog message in the alert body for you:

${N=OLM.AlertingMacros;M=OLMAlertMessage.EventMessage}

View solution in original post

11 Replies
Level 13

Last year, I posted some SQL codes for alerting on Syslog messages, and including the actual syslog message in the alert e-mail. This is the code I used, in case it is of any use to you:

${SQL: SELECT Top 1 Message FROM Syslog WHERE (PATINDEX ('%service recommended%',Message) > 0) AND NodeID=${Nodeid}} 

I like jrouviere's solution "${N=OLM.AlertingMacros;M=OLMAlertMessage.EventMessage}" I will have to see if that works better for my uses too. If you are interested in the post I put up last year, find it at: https://thwack.solarwinds.com/message/394733#394733

Thanks.

Now the only things that are missing is the syslog widget being added to the applicable node screen and being able to receive all syslogs. I have one device that will send 4 syslogs per minute but yet I will only get one of these using this new setup. So far the new setup doesn't work as before.

0 Kudos

wesleykparker​ provided the following SQL code (in another thread) to replace the syslog widget. Thought it would be good to have here as well.

SELECT TOP 100 -- Edit this number for how many messages you want to load to widget (you can modify the widget for how many messages to page)