cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 8

SAM - Best way to organize nodes ?

first of all im new to solarwinds, have only been using the product for roughly 3 months, so please be nice LOL-

Goodmorning all,

This a loaded, yet, very vague question. Im just looking for general guidance/suggestions/tips. I have been tasked with organizing all nodes our agency currently has in SAM. They have alerts set up and have been configured properly. I have no idea how to even start or where to begin although I have done a little bit of research on the subject. We are likely going to start at the top being the "IT Services and business services" , then work our way down to application, then to environment (PRD,DR,QA) etc.

What are some ways that you all have structured your organizations nodes ?

What are some ways that you all have structured nodes under different teams within your organization?

Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone.

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Level 13

I'd suggest to use Custom Properties as powerfull tool for control and manage of many SolarWinds software functions and features. Each company uses own set of Custom Properties following it's needs and internal procedures so it is difficult to settle specific proposals. So I can advise to use Custom Propoerties as control matrix.

You can use Custom Properties for nodes, alerts, reports, applications, interfaces, volumes and groups as steering console. Combination of use of different Custom Properties and ability to dynamically change of values within Custom Properties allow precise selection, categorizing, grouping etc. of relevant elements.

0 Kudos
Level 8

Not sure if this is detailed enough, but here is part of how we group things.