cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 9

Router BGP/Neighbor Alerting

I have NPM 11.5.2 and I want to setup some alerting so when a peer or connection to our ISP goes down I want to get an email alert stating which node is having the issues and what connection it lost. I am new to SW and still trying to get this whole alerting thing down so any help would be great to get me started on this.

Also, is there a away to create a report that can show all my neighbors and then i can have it posted on one of my summary screens?

14 Replies
Level 12

There's a canned report in the alert tool: "Alert me when a neighbor goes down", which by default writes an entry in the SW log. You just need to add an additional action to that alert to send an email to you, and make sure you have the "BGP neighbors" and EIGRP neighbors" resources selected under "Routing" via List Resources for your routers.

0 Kudos

A while ago I have bumped into a problem with default alert. When route has been deleted it would not account for this check and would alert anyways neither there is a way to exclude deleted routes within the alert in standard (non-sql) way. Hence the following line in code:

NPM_RoutingNeighbor_V.IsDeleted <> 1 --Exclude deleted routes

Maybe I just haven't found it yet ...

0 Kudos
Level 12

Here's what the default alert shows for me in the logic, you could delete the "Is Deleted" field if you didn't want it to fire on that? Our network guys wanted to be alerted in both cases so I kept that in:
routingneighbors.png

ah, ok, yes.... my memory... I have mixed it up with Hardware alert, whereby it was not possible to filter out deleted sensors. May well be the case now with latest NPM. Ye, if you can get away without SQL - I would prefer more native setup obviously.

0 Kudos

Hi Guys,

This is how I do it (sql based): Know Your Routing Neighbours