cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 13

Question regarding Always on SQL. Performance issues.

We have  a DR environment setup with HA pools for the primary and for our additional servers. For SQL we setup a cluster with always on. Because of how Microsoft creates the cluster use of Full recovery was necessary. However, We have many errors that still point towards SQL contributing in a big way to the problems. You send a query and it's simply taking too long to respond. I am a new SolarWinds Admin to my company so I don't have yet have the full specifics of the deployment. But all things considered for out build it is using SolarWinds recommendations. Yet, I can't get snappy quick responses from sql. It's delayed more than what would be expected. Than when database maintenance runs and really loads SQL that's when we notice things slow down enough to alert us that SolarWinds is not syncing with sql. And usually this clears when db maintenance clears.

Few Pointers.

1. SQL is built on a VM. I know that's against recommendation. But these days I can count more companies with VM sql's and less companies with physical. SQL on VM is fine, It just requires additional settings to ensure that it's running correctly. 

2. The disk is on a SAN system. Again, another thing SolarWinds typically complains about. Thing is that these are to my knowledge 15k SAS drives. And they are setup for max IOP's. My storage guys say the setting has similar performance to RAID-10 If not better.

So build wise I don't believe it's a problem. I think it's just a matter of tweaking parameters. For example. We changed parallelism settings according to some suggestions on sw kb's and also active diagnostics and it helped. But wasn't nearly enough to get performance to acceptable levels.