cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 7

Physically device is UP, in Solarwinds its showing Down

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Solarwinds facing this issue need your support in this, I have few nodes which are shown as down. But when I try to ping them from my machine, they are pingable checked with Notwork Administrator they informed device is Up. 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Level 7

I have deleted the existing node and tried to add once , but i'm getting SNMP error, could anyone help me on this how can I sort it out this issue.

0 Kudos

So either something, like a firewall, is blocking the connection OR you have the snmp community wrong.

You likely have an snmp GUI tool on your orion server at:

C:\Program Files (x86)\SolarWinds\Orion\SnmpWalk.exe

You can use that for testing.  It won't help you tell the difference between a firewall block or a wrong community, but it takes the Orion processes out of the picture, since it's a stand alone utility.

0 Kudos

Future note:

Once you get the node added and working.  When you do a list resources, you have the option of using ICMP or SNMP for the up/down status.  

I cannot say which is better.  Networking people will always chose ICMP, but as the monitoring guy, I prefer SNMP.

The advantage of ICMP is that the device will show green even if something is wrong with snmp.

The advantage if SNMP is that the device will show red, so that you know something is wrong with snmp.

It's just a matter of perspective.  If you want the best of both worlds, then you can choose ICMP, and add another monitor for SNMP, such as using SAM or maybe UnDP.

0 Kudos

If your Solarwinds NPM server can ping the devices, but it still says they are down, you simply need to Edit the device(s) in NPM and confirm it's using the correct polling methods (ICMP?  SNMP-v3?  Agents?), and that everything matches between the node(s) and your poller.