This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Is it possible to collect non-snmp information in NPM?

I'm wondering if it is possible to collect information I get with a python script into NPM somehow?

Our previous monitoring system allowed me to define an 'attribute' and then populate it with a tcpsock call.  It proved to be very useful in a number of situations.  So far I'm not seeing any similar mechanism in NPM however.

Right now for example, I have a need to monitor which routers have a specific file present in their flash.  I can easily do this with a python script which will parse the results of 'dir bootflash:' looking for the filename.  But I don't see any way to get that information into NPM.  I'm pretty new to NPM so I could be missing something obvious.

I know there is an snmp oid I can walk to get the contents of the flash, but I don't see how I could construct a universal poller on that oid that would return just that filename if it exists.  It would return the entire contents of flash.

If it was possible to do it with the python script it would be better because that would generalize to any future need that I didn't have an oid for.

Thanks.

• Script monitors are a part of SAM, Server and Application Monitor.  That would be an additional expense. 

Honestly I don't know how people get by without (at a minimum) their network, server, and virtual monitoring all in the same place.

• We do have SAM, although I do not personally use it.  I did look at the scripting capability there, but it didn't seem that it would work for what I want it for.  I didn't see how the output of a script run by sam node could populate a value of multiple npm nodes.