This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Is Solarwinds products misunderstood?

Having Dept with the software for many years I’ve had some pretty interesting experiences. From people not using the full potential of the software to people customizing the software for things other than what it was designed for.

People cant read it and quickly discard it over tools that are easier to read but don’t offer the half of what Solarwinds does.

As an administrator I have heard my share of customizing and systems request that had me scratching my head.

Then when I say that Solarwinds can’t do what they are trying to accomplish they say well let’s get a software that can.

or better yet If I offer that information in a different format because of how that information is displayed in Solarwinds they still

want to move to the cheaper software because “it looks better”.

The software is super powerful in the hands of a certified administrator who knows how to design it and deploy it properly. And make sure it works as designed.

the software is useless to someone who’s never heard of Solarwinds.

And nothing upsets me more when they take guides as a literal piece of software not understanding it’s not a one size fits all it’s just for reference purposes yet they want argue that one server with 2 core can handle a database for 15 pollens. All because that’s what they understood from the guide so they are running with it.

Has anyone had similar experiences? If people would give full control to the administrator and trust what they say there would be no trouble. But someone wants to question a person who’s certified with many years of experience behind the product. I can’t wrap my head around it. Makes no sense to me.