cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 10

How to configure snmp on a cisco 2900 switch

I'm trying to add a cisco 2900 to solarwinds. I have created a RO community string but the test still fails in solarwinds when I try to add the switch. What else do I need to do? I'm a little new to cisco conifgs.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
27 Replies
Level 8

Hi

a script that can send an sms (message by phone) during an alert
I do not use and I can not use the software Orion NCM Web Console Is there another solution that allows you to do what I seen

Can you give me more information on Solarwinds Alert Manager (win32 app) on the use of script and receiving sms message by phone thank you

Bilel

0 Kudos
Community Manager
Community Manager

bilel,

I have answered you on this same question here.  Please keep your questions limited to a single thread.

Thank you,

Danielle

0 Kudos
Level 9

By the way you can't telnet to 161 to check access - SNMP uses UDP and the telnet command attempts to make a TCP connection.

You could conceivably telnet from the router to SolarWinds on 162 to see of the trap port is open in that direction.

<< This (TCP/162) doesn't seem to work for SOLARWINDS as it doesn't seem to have TCP/162 open. Other SNMP servers may have use TCP/162, however. Use of UDP for SNMP traffic is much more common than TCP>>

0 Kudos
Level 8

Heres what i add to my 2921's

snmp-server community public RO

snmp-server enable traps

snmp-server host <ip> version 2c public

What does your PM config look like?

0 Kudos

I tried entering this:

User Access Verification

Password:
switch>enable
Password:
INTSW#config t
Enter configuration commands, one per line.  End with CNTL/Z.
switch(config)#snmp-server community "string" ro
switch(config)#snmp-server enable traps
switch(config)#snmp-server host x.x.x.x version 2c "string"

switch(config)#

whats the PM?

0 Kudos

Go to Manage Nodes, then click on Add Node, and you will get this screen: