This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How I can delete data from my database to free up space?

Hi everyone!

My database has only 5 GB in size, I need to delete old information, to free up space someone could guide me how to do it, I'm not an expert in SQL.

Thanks

• Have you tried performing a maintenance options like "Shrink" on the database? These are available from the SQL server management studio on the database server for your solarwinds environment. Once you login and expand the databases section simply right click on the database (SolarWindsOrion is the default name) and choose Tasks->Shrink->Database. Then click on "OK" to accept the default actions and let it cook. Repeat for any other databases you have for other SolarWinds products installed. Best part it can be done with no downtime to the environment.

• Step 1: Get more space. You are going to need A LOT more than 5Gb, no matter what you are doing. For goodness sake, your operating system needs at least 40Gb. Show a little love and give the little bugger at least 100Gb. Disk is sooo cheap these days.

That said, you can:

1. Go into Settings, Polling Settings, and change the Database Settings so it retains fewer days of data, and summarizes more often.
    2. Wait 24 hours so all that summarization and deletions happen
    3. THEN if you need more space, go into MS SQL Management studio
      1. Right-click the database name (ie: SolarWindsOrion)
      2. Choose Tasks
      3. Choose Shrink
      4. Choose Database
      5. Check the "Reorganize files.." option and click OK
      6. Repeat teps 1-3
      7. Choose Files