cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 7

Great solarwinds Job Opportunity - I'm a total newbie - Help!

Hi guys,

I have a great job opportunity coming up. It's for a fairly large firm - 4,000 servers, 350 odd WAN links, 1000 plus network devices, 500 printers, etc.

I'm a total newbie to SolarWinds but if I could learn enough of it in the next 4 weeks, I have a great chance of landing this job.

Could anyone please advise me on what would be the most effective and time efficient way to learn as much about Solarwinds in the next 4 weeks?

I have had a read of a few threads and it seems a good place to start is with the NPM and SAM getting started guides. I also have the Admin guides and the youtube playlists.

Time is of the essence so I am looking for a solution that will allow me to learn the most in the quickest time.

Thanks in advance for your help and time.

Rod.

Tags (1)
16 Replies

Don't forget to use THWACK to search for solutions to any hurdles you come across, there is years and years of knowledge in these forums!

Good luck on the job!  With the low unemployment you've got a great chance!

Level 13

Go to the demo site and work through everything SolarWinds Demo | Online Orion Demo Login .  You can try all the products and don't have to set anything up.  There are lots of demo systems in there.

Lurk on thwack and ask questions (you're already doing that obviously)

Download and install any demo products you need to learn.

Level 12

Hey Rod, where is the job?

Not that I'm looking for a new job or anything...

Community Manager
Community Manager

Don't sleep on the THWACK Tuesday Tips series either: https://thwack.solarwinds.com/pages/thwack-tuesday-tips

Quick ❤️ minute segments sorted by topic, i.e. How to setup NetPath, How to setup custom resources, how to run diags, etc.

I've recently started watching these and they are amazing addition to my toolbox!

- Ben Keen LinkedIn Profile