This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Custom Poller Alert - SQL Error All Of A Sudden

Hey All,

I have a few customer poller alerts that have been running for 4+ years thanks to the help from a few people here: Re: Custom Poller Alert Short explanation - all these do is put the current status, input voltage, and battery capacity of a UPS in one message when it loses AC power.

Recently, the messages being sent from these alerts have contained an SQL error referencing an ambiguous column name.  I am no SQL expert at all, so here I am asking for some help.  Nothing has changed in either the SQL server, the Orion server, or the alerts themselves.... other than possible software updates from SW (NPM and NTA).

The original alert outgoing message is written like this:

UPS has been ${SQL:Select Status From CustomPollerAssignment as Assignment, CustomPollerStatus as Status where Assignment.CustomPollerAssignmentID = Status.CustomPollerAssignmentID and Assignment.NodeID = ${NodeID} and Assignment.AssignmentName like 'CVMupsPowerSource%'} for 60 minutes.

So, to make it perform better when running the query manually, I have removed all of the NPM related formatting and used a Node ID that I know works, making the SQL query look like this:

Select Status From CustomPollerAssignment as Assignment, CustomPollerStatus as Status where Assignment.CustomPollerAssignmentID = Status.CustomPollerAssignmentID and Assignment.NodeID = 530 and Assignment.AssignmentName like 'CVMupsPowerSource%'

When I run this query I get the following with the first "Status" underlined:

Msg 209, Level 16, State 1, Line 2

Ambiguous column name 'Status'.