This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Creating an Alert for a Custom MIB

I have a custom MIB for monitoring ESX VMFS disk space.  It successfully returns the percentage of disk space used on the VMFS volume, but I don't understand how I can create an alert on this.  I can create an Advanced Alert with a Trigger Condition that says if the Poller Name is equal to VMFS_Space (my custom MIB name), but how do I set the criteria that says if it goes above 80% send me an alert?

• Never mind.  I already figured it out.  I added a complex condition that said if the Status is greater thank or equal to 80%.  I think that is going to do the trick.  I will be testing it tomorrow.

•  I am new to SolarWinds and to creating custom MIB's. Can anyone provide me with a little instruction as howto get my feet off the ground.

Like many others I need to monitor the VMFS's on my ESX servers. How would I go about doing that. At present, SolarWinds only see's the native drives.

Thanks,

Jeff Timmerman

jeffrey_timmerman@hotmail.com

• Yes, you will need to create a custom mib poller.I believe the ESX OIDs you need are 1.3.6.1.4.1.6876.3.2.3 for mem avail and 1.3.6.1.4.1.6876.3.2.1 for mem size but don't quote me on that.

You can see this thread (further down for the instructions on creating MIBs) and I suggest viewing this -Create a Universal Device Poller (UnDP) in the Orion Platform - SolarWinds Worldwide, LLC. Help and Support

to get you in the right direction.

• Step 1) Create a script that produces the numeric response you are seeking.  I called mine vmfsspace.specific.  I actually found it online by Googling it. 

This may help:  

Place the script somewhere logical like /usr/sbin/vmfsspace.specific