This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Auto Dependency Question

Hello:

I am new to the Solarwinds NPM that my employer just got, which I am setting up. I am trying to find where to configure/setup the auto dependency. I am hoping to use this to use the main switch at each building as a parent and it just find the switches attached. Help!

• The easiest way to accomplish this would be to create groups.  Put your switches that sit behind your parent switch in a group, then create a new dependency using the main switch as a parent and the group as its dependent.

1) Settings

2) Manage Dependencies

3) Create Dependency

4) Choose Main switch as the "Parent"

5) Select Dependent Group

6) Profit

The question posed is a bit confusing though.  A Parent Switch isn't going to "Find" other switches that sit behind it.  That's what the "Network Discovery" does.  The dependency option just suppresses "Node Down" alerts when a parent switch goes down because it's implied that if the parent drops off, the dependents will too.  You'll still need to run a Network Discovery scan, but when the dependent switches are found, you can add them into your "Dependent Group" for ease in management.

Let me know if you need any clarification - or if I'm completely wrong and just haven't seen/used that feature.

-Brandon

• No that was what I have been doing but, I read about "Auto Dependencies" through the pdf for it. I guess I'll just continue to plug away. But thank you for letting me know that there is no other way.

• Wilson99,

There is an auto-dependencies feature, you enable it from the web console under Settings > Polling Settings > Enable Auto Dependencies.