This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Alerting with a custom SQL condition

Hi Guys,

I am relatively new to Solarwinds and I'm trying to set up an alert using an SQL condition.

The end goal is to send out alerts for when we receive this trap 'BGP4-MIB:bgpTraps.0.2'.

This is what im using as the SQL condition to trigger the alert: "select * from [dbo].[Traps] WHERE Hostname IN ('Router1','Router2') AND TrapType = 'BGP4-MIB:bgpTraps.0.2' AND DateTime > DATEADD (minute, -2, Sysdatetime())"

This Query works correctly when used in the database manager and only returns traps sent from those devices within the last 2 minutes, the problem is that when I go to create the alert in solarwinds, it gives the warning that the alert will trigger on 1152 objects! this is odd because those objects include devices with different hostnames and devices that aren't even using BGP.

I'm aware that I can just send out alerts using the trap viewer application but I wanted to manage this with the other alerts.

Would appreciate any guidance or input as to what im missing here.

Thanks.

• not clear where you are setting this up...are you trying to do this through NPM, I assume?

If that is the case, you have to tie the trap to a node or some base object.  search for something like trap alert npm.

ultimately, you'll probably select custom sql alert, use Node as base, then tie to trap IP, but there are a few posts out there showing how to do it.

• Yep, I'm trying to do this through NPM, using a Custom SQL query as the trigger condition for the alert.