This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Alert / Event Tracking for troubleshooting

For my sins I am being seen as a 'sort of' expert on Solarwinds. I know some bits very well, but I confess I am far from an expert and not even lose to being good with lots of it.

So can someone kindly point me at documentation that shows a methodology for investigating alerts from end to end from a troubleshooting perspective. Either that or please try and talk me through how you go about this?

For example, I'm trying to find and then follow a specific alert arriving in the system to it [raising an incident in our 3rd party tool], and ultimately seeing the up alert / event. This is for a trap if it makes any difference but I'm not having much luck.

Crazy thing is I can see our external ticket side of things being fired off, and this will only have come from an alert trigger in Solarwinds causing an entry to be written to an external log file but I can't see the Solarwinds side of it.

Any thoughts?

I guess I'm asking - how do I see all the events going through the system? If this means trawling the database then anyhelp on the relevant commands would be welcome. Or pointers to a 3rd party tool (or Solarwinds addon) that interrogates the log without constant screen refreshes messingup what I'm looking for / at.

• I would start with Message Center.  I have taken a ticket from our 3rd party ticket service, BMC Remedy, and searched message center for all events related to the node (or interface or whatever). 

On an active alert in SolarWinds, I can see a History of Alerts on this Object resource that at least for us can show when an active alert triggered and the alert action taken.  In our case sending an email to Remedy.