cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 8

NCM Nightly Job Errors but Manual Download Works

Hello, I am fairly new to NCM and SW, and I have inherited a pretty large database of devices to back up in NCM. Every night the job runs to download running and startup configs on Cisco, Juniper, HP devices. Once the job is complete, I get around 500 errors out of 750 devices, and most will say "Cannot Download Running/Startup: Connection Refused". 

Now I have searched and see the most common issues for this, and usually incorrect credentials and sometimes that is exactly what it is, but I am seeing a lot of devices that are working just fine. For example, if I go into the Node and scroll down to NCM section and click Test, it says Test Successful....then if I go into NCM and go to the device in question, then Configs, then Download Config, it actually works!

Why then does the job fail every night for that device, plus others? It is frustrating to see this and I cannot figure it out. Is this a bug that I need to upgrade to a later revision on? I am running: Orion Platform 2018.4 HF3, IPAM 4.8.1 HF1, NCM 7.9, NPM 12.4, NTA 4.5.0, SAM 6.8.0, NetPath 1.1.4

Thank you for any advice. 

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

Do you have an authentication service in the background that maybe limits the amount of logins within a certain timeframe? I also remember having an issue with one of my clients where the backend System was not performing well so the authentication requests against that system were running into timeouts.
0 Kudos

We are using MS NPS as the authentication for this. Do you know how many concurrent connections NCM makes to devices that might overload NPS?

0 Kudos

The usual IT answer “it depends” ;).
By default I think 10 concurrent sessions are opened. However when a Device is “done” it could be that the setting to look at on your authentication system is “number of logins in a certain timeframe”.