cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Create Post
Level 12

A Sweetheart Deal - 1000 Thwack Points!

If you use NCM and NPM, then earn a quick 1000 thwack points by telling me how you use them in your organization.  I am especially interested in hearing stories on how you might be using NCM and NPM together.  Post a comment or reply to my email (mark.ungerman@solarwinds.com) and we'll find a convenient time to talk.

(Thank you! Closed - but be sure to look for other ways to participate and earn thwack points!)

118 Replies
Level 9

Good Afternoon,

I talked my company into purchasing Solar Winds NPM and NTA back in March of 2014. So I am still a newbie but, this application has helped us out so much in the past two years. With in a month of having NTA one of our users got a virus and was spamming out emails outside our network. I was able to use NTA to drill down to the snmp protocal and find the system that was spamming out these emails. That was great time for that to happen as It would have taking a lot longer to figure out which one out of 90 nodes was causing this problem without Solar Winds.

First thing I do every morning is login in NPM and look around for 45 mins or so every morning. I have found, dead hard drives, dead power supplies, and even dead raid controller battery two weeks ago in our web server. I know it seems that a lot of IT departments have lower personnel now days. So I believe this saves me days out of a work year, its amazing at all the information you can get from one application. I love it, keep up the good work you guys rock!!!

Level 9

We use NPM/NCM for Network Refresh Reports (WAN utilization, number of active LAN interfaces, EOL, IOS versions (feature set).

0 Kudos
Level 13