This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

MAC address history

Newbie here, new to IPAM.  We are a medium sized organization looking into something more than a spreadsheet as a IPAM solution.

Is it possible to search on a MAC address to display a chronological log of all ip addresses that were leased, expired, etc by this particular MAC address?  This is useful for troubleshooting should a device be moved or the port be reconfigured, and this allows tracking the lifecycle of a device (rather than an ip address).

Thanks

• Ok, I thought it could, but I just definitely confirmed it for you.

By default it doesn't search on MAC addresses, but there is a down arrow in the search box that if you click on it gives you the option of what fields to search on. 

I was able to confirm that it does this by going into the database and looking up where it stores the historical IP info and doing a count on the EndpointID to find multiple occurrences of the same MAC Address, picked one that had a lot, figured out what MAC it was and do a search on that.   Have a few months history on it over different IP's and such.  One note, in the DB the MAC address is stored as just letters/numbers, no dashes or anything.  When searching I had to do it in 58-94-6B-32-66-F0, so it is a bit picky on search format.

That being said, don't be surprised if you get duplicate MAC addresses in your organization.  It's not common, but it is definitely possible.