This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How to Do URL Queries Using CURL

Howdy, folks!  I'm pretty new to SolarWinds IPAM.  And while I've been scripting for a while, I feel I'm still relatively new to `curl'.  At any rate, here's my premise:  if I can pass a URL successfully to my browser and get good data, I should be able to pass the same URL to `curl' to get text-based output.  Unfortunately, I've been hitting my head up against a wall, and I'm out of tricks at this point. 

Why am I doing this?  Ultimately, I want to get IP Assignment History.  But I'm taking baby steps, and here's what I'm sending to my browser right now.  It's an IPAM query equivalent to a basic `nslookup', viz., "solarwinds/.../search.aspx  Note that this is an internal address, and that I actually get a hostname back when I send this to my browser.

However, when I try to lookup the same URL from the command line, I don’t get the expected output.  Instead, I get garbage. 

Here's my simplified `curl' statement:

$ curl -L -u USER solarwinds/.../search.aspx

Enter host password for user 'USER':

<garbage>

Full disclosure:  here’s my actual script…

#!/usr/bin/sh

# Dynamic Variables

# -----------------

IP_LOOKUP="192.168.11.10"

URL="solarwinds/.../search.aspx

BROWSER='Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 9.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/5.0)'

COOKIE='XLI5P8GU.txt'

# Get IP History

# -----------------

curl -L -c ${COOKIE} -u USER -A "${BROWSER}" "${URL}" | \

sed 's/<[^>]*>//g'

…and here’s what happens when I run it:  I get nothing relevant after stripping out the HTML

# ./curl_solarwinds.sh

Enter host password for user 'USER':

<I enter this manually>