This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

How to receive an email from a separate internal application and use that to trigger something in solarwinds?

Good Morning

I am pretty new to solarwinds, so please excuse me in advance.

What i am looking to do is currently there is an application in my environment that sends out an email if there is an issue. I would like to capture that in solarwinds, so it shows up in the console as an issue/error.

How can I go about solarwinds getting a copy of that email and build a trigger job off of there to send an alert and make it show up in the console.

Thanks for your help.

• My first thought is to cut out the middleman (ie: email) and have your monitoring solution watch the thing that is happening to trigger the email, and have it (monitoring) do that instead. We can discuss that further, but I had to contribute my 2 cents.

Second, you COULD write an email processing routine, but that is fairly tedious and by and large error prone. So there are some other options.

1. you can have whatever is triggering the email ALSO trigger a trap or syslog message and send THAT in to your SolarWinds environment. Those are natively processed and show up on a variety of consoles, reports, alerts, etc.
    2. you can have whatever is triggering the email ALSO use the SolarWinds API (see here: Orion SDK) to do <things> in SolarWinds. Insert data, update a system, etc.

Ultimately, it's difficult to speak comprehensively about how to solve this without knowing more about the entire situation. What is going wrong, what is triggering the email, what information is IN the email, etc. But hopefully this gets your brain working in the right direction. Feel free to follow up in the comments below.