This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Is there a way to set a pre-condition on a subset of interfaces?

Hi everyone,   I've been using Orion now for a little over a month now and I'm still learning all the tweaks and settings that are possible. 

I'm hoping for some insight on how best to implement this, as I'm sure it's possible in many ways.

In one of the several data centers that Orion is monitoring, local IT staff have access to the physical interfaces on the Access layer Cisco switch.  This specific data center has seen a lot of activity lately, and I'm having to go in and "check" the switch for new ports -- ports without descriptions that are showing connected.

I'd like to be able to have Orion step in and assist.  What I'm thinking of is to set all of the unused ports to "unplugged" instead of ignoring them.

Then, I'd like to receive an email when the port goes from "unplugged" to "up" 

Sounds easy, but I cannot see to find the missing piece to only look at unplugged ports.  My first attempt netted me over 7200 alerts in my inbox as the reset of "up" was triggered by EVERY port on every node Orion is monitoring.

My current plan is to create a basic alert.  Under Monitored Network Objects, select only the unplugged interfaces.  The alert trigger will be up and the reset will down.  But this still means I'm going to have to manually change the alerting structure each time an unplugged interface is used.

In summary, I am attempting to do the following scenarios simultaneously:

Scenario 1: Node is up -> Interface is up -> Interface goes down -> email is sent.  Interface comes back up -> reset email is sent.

Scenario 2: Node is up -> Interface is unplugged -> Interface changes to up -> email is sent.