This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Need help creating baseline for Orion DB. Could use help and guidance.

Hi,

Need a little help. How can I design a report that will basically outline a baseline performance for our Orion DB? Any SQL guru's out there can help me on this one? I need this to have a better idea where our performance weak points are. Any help and guidance to build this report would be great. Or if you have one you use and wouldn't mind sharing please send it my way.

Better yet if this can be accomplished through a SolarWinds report even better. I'm new to the company I work for and have currently only limited access to sql myself. So I can't run anything that would require any kind of elevation on sql otherwise it won't let me run it.

Seoncdly, Speaking again to SQL guru's out there. What are key parameters or config's within SQL I should focus on that provides the best performance benefit for SolarWinds? For example we recently set parallelism which was set to zero. Set up a couple other parameters which where all defaults. Can anyone with a  rock solid fast DB share some insights how you managed to get your sql to perform right?

We have a big SQL project on going to improve SolarWinds DB. But it's requiring proof in order to get the approvals we need to put through the changes we need to put through. And stats that management currently has does not warrant a change being needed. So we need to provide correct information that will show otherwise.

Could really use any SQL help I can get. The more through and detailed help the better. Thanks in advance.