This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Traps setup issue

Hi,

NPM 2020.2 in use and i am trying to code Advanced SQL trap alerts. But the trap database table contains no data. I can see the traps coming in via log viewer. The Trap database statistics show no rows of data also. 

Any Ideas?

Sorry i am a newbie on a steep learning curve

Thanks in advance

• On 2020.2 the old log viewer still opens but as you say, shows no data.

Solarwinds deprecated this with the latest version so it can only be done from log viewer - which by their own admission, is far from complete and far from providing the functionality of the trap viewer.

My cynical take on this is they've removed a working aspect and are now pushing their all new "log analyzer" <sic> Yes, there's a free version, but for full live functionality you need to start paying. And licensing is, from my view, horrendously expensive. Just my 2p mind.

• Hi   

I have been successful in creating alerts from the log viewer as as per your link. What I am also trying to achieve is alert trigger delay filter

Active alarm trap is received and processed (As Below)

Travisty_1-1593208587621.png

Trigger Condition 

Travisty_2-1593208774633.png

What i am unable to do is create a 1min delay using this method. I only want alerts for  alarms that is active for  > 1 min.

The alarm delay conditions disappears when Log analyzer alert message event is selected as a trigger. Online reading points me towards using custom SQL to achieve this.

I have traps coming in and working.

Travisty_3-1593209221624.png

But the trap database file is empty for SQL 

Travisty_5-1593209335589.png

Travisty_4-1593209318780.png

Thanks in advance

Travis