This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Problems generating alert from custom poller

I'm hoping there may be an easy fix for this as I'm quite new to this and could well be missing something simple.  I'm trying to generate an alert from a custom poller.  The poller appears to work correctly and returns a value of 0 or 1 from the device I am monitoring (it is actually an alarm condition).  It seems to function whether the format is 'none', 'text' or 'enumeration' for the purposes of displaying a graph for the node.

The attachment shows how I currently have the alert trigger configured with just two conditions:

poller name equal to IBUC10MHzalarm

numeric status equal to 1

The alert action I have is just to write to a text/log file.

I have also tried 'status' in place of numeric status and tried various changes to the format in the poller e.g. setting to text and using status instead of numeric status as I thought the issue may be with this, but no combination seems to yield a result.  I see no alerts generated.

I am assuming the alert should be generated from any node the poller currently monitors.

I've had a look at some other posts and people appear to have results using similar alert conditions and pollers.  Any suggestions are appreciated.

alert_from_custom_poller.zip
Parents
  • monty,

I haven't done much alerting from custom pollers, but I was wondering if you happen to have anything configured under the alert suppression tab. This probably isn't your issue, but I have run into problems in the past with alerts not firing when I tried to include suppression.

• kweise,

Thanks for the suggestion, but there is nothing configured under alert suppression, everything at default.

cheers,

Monty

• Hi Monty,