This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

Advanced Alert - OID Table Format

I'll start off by saying I'm new to creating alerts in the NPM.

I have an OID that returns a table saying which of it's attached devices are up.  I'm assuming that each row corresponds with which port they hang off of.  Certain ports always say OFF because there's nothing hanging off of them, while others say ON.  We have around 30 or 40 of these devices and it doesn't seem like there was any standard as to which ports to plug the devices into.

There is another OID that grabs the description of each port.  The only ones that have been changed are the ones that are currently being used.

I'm looking for a way to say if OID.description contains xxxx and if in the corresponding row OID.status equals OFF then alert me.  I'm having some troubles because (I think) of the table format.

Is there a way to use the information from the description to basically filter out which ones are active using the second OID, while only alerting me on the OFF ports from the first OID?  If there is, generally, how would I do it?

Thanks.

Parents
  • So, the goal is to get notified if any ports with a specific text in the description matches.

In my experience, no, the SW way to accomplish what you're trying to do is assign a custom property to interfaces,
    and the alert 'filtering' you're looking for will happen via that mechanism.  This is what we do for interfaces that have
    a higher level of criticality based on whatever's connected to it.

I can give more detail if you need it.

Peter 

• So, the goal is to get notified if any ports with a specific text in the description matches.