This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

NetFlow Source...

Hi All,

Complete newb here, first post.

We are half way through the NPM onboarding academy (we've brought the BW Analyser pack).

Looking ahead to NetFlow/IPFix, our WAN provider are currently migrating us from a CIsco MPLS WAN to a VERSA SD WAN, they have informed us that this will not support NetFlow/IPFix.

It does obviously, but will only send data to their own analytics platform and they could not forward only our companies data from there.

We could look to forward data from the switches, switch to router trunk port. Thats not ideal in any case, but we have rolled out Meraki switches that do not support NetFlow/IPFix.

Is there a SW or HW agent anyone is aware of that could send the data if we had it in a mirror port, mirroring the switch to router trunk port?

Some sort of USB pen drive sized dongle perhaps?

Thanks,

Tony.

Parents
  • So, this VERSA company owns the routers and won't do it for you?  Rather rude.   To be honest, I don't think I'd be overly happy with another company owning my WAN routers and not giving me any access there.   I'd probably want to put routers, or maybe firewalls, between their routers and my LANs, that way you have the ability to do some additional security if desired.   It would also allow you to do your Netflow and such at that point.

But, that being said, what kind of switches do you have that the routers connect to?   Some Cisco switches, such as 3850's or 9000 series, will do Netflow also.  You could do it on them?