This discussion has been locked. The information referenced herein may be inaccurate due to age, software updates, or external references.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a similar question you can start a new discussion in this forum.

IPAM DHCP Scope Alert setup

FormerMember
FormerMember

I am hoping I can get some clue's from Thwack on where I can modify the component monitor for DHCP emailed alerts.

First off, if it isn't obvious by the question, I am new to Solarwinds Orion monitor system. We are creating a new Orion monitoring system with various modules, one being IPAM.

After adding a set of Windows DHCP (load balanced) servers, we started getting emailed alerts every hour. We are using WMI credentials to monitor these servers.

The Alerts are legitimate! We have 5 DHCP Scopes that are Full or Almost Full. The Windows DHCP servers has a 1020 event generated in the system log. Which is being monitored by the application monitor "Windows DHCP Server" component "Warning: Server Scope is Almost Full". This generated 1 email, but I cannot figure out what generated the second email. Maybe it is the same application monitor, but I can't see this clearly when viewing the different monitors.

The first emails we get are shown below:

Email Subject: Application "Windows DHCP Server" on "DHCPServer01" is currently Down

<Message>

The application Windows DHCP Server on DHCPServer01 (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) is currently in a state of "Down". This application was last seen in an "Up" status on 10/31/2019 11:11:55 AM. The following is a list of components in this application presently in distress.

Warning: Server Scope is Almost Full(Down)

Email Subject: "Warning: Server Scope is Almost Full" of Application "Windows DHCP Server" on DHCPServer01 is Down

<Message>

Component Warning: Server Scope is Almost Full of Application "Windows DHCP Server" on dhcp02 is

currently in a state of "Down".