Prevent node deletion for certain admin users

score 29
Voted on 29 times. You have not voted. Open for Voting

It would be very helpful if permissions for adding and deleting nodes could be set separately. Currently you need to give admin permissions to all users who need to be able to add nodes to NPM (in some cases field techs, and lower level support). With admin permissions however by mistake(which happens a lot with lower level techs) you can also delete a node with months or even years of historical data which can be very painful. Currently as confirmed by Solarwinds support there is no way around this so a new feature would need to be developed to either allow setting permissions for adding and deleting nodes separately per usr/group or have a check box/option for restricting certain admin users to only adding nodes and prevent them from deleting any nodes from the system.

Comments

Vote history

SolarWinds uses cookies on its websites to make your online experience easier and better. By using our website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies, see our cookie policy.