A suggestion from augustinius that would be of tremendous value to his company:
If we upgrade a server to a new instance, there is a transition period where we do not wish to monitor the instance but where we may need to reactivate it or we may need to access the history of its monitoring (for a before-and-after comparison). However, the current options for leaving the monitor in place cause problems for our alerting process. If we leave the monitor on, we will generate instance availability alerts that are false. If we turn it off, we have no way of showing that this was done on purpose and monitor-the-monitor processes will see it as a problem and alert falsely. It would be nice if instead of just on and off, there were a third status of "archived" or "decommissioned" to show that the instance is off, but is off on purpose and can safely be ignored by monitor-the-monitor or in the GUI.