8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 27, 2013 4:37 AM by ashley.cotter RSS

Why nodes are showing down in solarwinds NPM even though the ips are reachable from my pc

mershadshaik

Dear Admins,

Greetings.

As i am new to solarwinds,

Some ips are suddently showing down in our solarwinds monitor even though the ips are reachable from my pc.

After one hour the issue is clear.

My question is why solarwinds displayed them down while they are ICMP reachable successfully

I attached snapshots of solarwinds and icmp results at that time frame.

Many thanks for your understanding.

.EXIT-17.DS.01.JPGPING DC.SS.01.JPGICMP RESULTS SS.01.JPG

Best regards,

Ershad SM.

• Re: Why nodes are showing down in solarwinds NPM even though the ips are reachable from my pc
    michael stump

Ershad,

It may be that a device in between your Orion host and the host at 10.30.2.115 had a problem that prevented Orion from pinging the host, while the connection between your PC and 10.30.2.115 was operating normally.

Did Orion detect any other devices that were down during this time?

• Re: Why nodes are showing down in solarwinds NPM even though the ips are reachable from my pc
    ashley.cotter

Firstly Welcome..

As Michael said I believe this could be an orion reachability issue.. Does this affect only that Node or multiple? Does the Switch reside on the same network as Orion?

All the best

mgibson