4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 23, 2012 12:28 AM by Chet Camlin RSS

Grouping and Dependencies

lthompson

I'm new to NPM, but have read the Admin guide covering Grouping and Alerting and the Technical Ref. on Using Groups and Dependencies and Understanding Alerts several times - but trying to apply what I have read to my particular network situation - I'm not sure of what would be the best practice to set up my groups and such.

I have a attached a rough diagram of a remote site of our network.  I understand that a group must be created for all the devices in Site A and then a dependency must be set up for the group for the point of connection (being either the connection from Corporate location or the local router).  However, in the Grouping Tech Ref. an alternate solution is given to group like items and create dependencies which flow from the WAN links down.  Our network is not set up as simplistic as the diagram shown within the example - so I am having a hard time wrapping my head around how I should set up grouping for this location.

My thought is to create a group (Group A) that would include the Accelerator and the Main Unit and then make it dependent on the Router.  Create another group (Group B) that would include all the device connect to the Main Unit (Controller 1, SW-144, SW-C1, SW-D1, SW-K1) and make it dependent on the Main Unit. Create a group (Group C) that includes SW-Maint and SW-I and make that group dependent on SW-144.  My question would then be how I would set up the switches that are chained off of SW-D1 and the Wireless Bridge and the devices behind the Bridge.  Didn't know if I would need to create another group which included all the devices after SW-D1 and make them dependent on SW-D1.

Didn't know if such a set up is too involved and would achieve the alerting that I would need.