
I stumbled across this URL that was attempted access from my Virtualization Manager appliance (that is, not a web browser client that was using the appliance). It's a Google IP address. Does anyone know what it is and why this is happening? I can confirm that no one was logged in to the web interface when this happened and packet logs show that it came from the appliance itself.
http://74.125.226.239/__utm.gif?utmwv=1&utmn=-276942843&utmcs=UTF-8&utmsr=1440x900&utmsc=32-bit&utmul=en-us&utmje=1&utmfl=9.0%20%20r28&utmcr=1&utmdt=bot-4.1.0-10002-sampleCollectionSucceeded&utmhn=veo&utmr=http://www.hyper9.com&utmp=/bot/4.1.0-10002/sampleCollectionSucceeded&utmac=UA-9569894-1&utmcc=__utma%3D'-633982656.2014246648.1324072561089.1324072561089.1324072561089.2%3B%2B__utmb%3D-633982656%3B%2B__utmc%3D-633982656%3B%2B__utmz%3D-633982656.1324072561089.2.2.utmccn%3D(direct)%7Cutmcsr%3D(direct)%7Cutmcmd%3D(none)%3B%2B__utmv%3D-633982656.VM%3B
From the URL, I can see that my version number is clearly listed - 4.1.0.10002 - highlighted above... I need to know what else is in this URL and whether or not I agreed to have this data collected. Is this an EULA thing, or did I say "OK to phone home" at some point?
Got it - thanks so much for the info. I usually don't mind doing this kind of thing if I know it's there, but had completely missed this in my review. Sorry for the fire drill.