8 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2009 9:30 AM by damienball RSS

Energywise Node Scheduling

damienball

Ok, so I can enable, disable, and do basic configuration of energywise on a device/interface.  Is there a way to view and set schedules for energywise power settings via orion NPM?  Maybe i'm missing it, but I don't see a way to do that.  It would be handy to have that as a report or as something that can be added to the Home screen. 

• Re: Energywise Node Scheduling
    denny.lecompte

Not with NPM, but this capability is available in NCM 5.5, which ships at the same time as NPM.  NCM, in case you're not familiar, is Orion Network Configuration Manager.

damienball

Yeah, I have that too.  I just didn't see it.  Is it manual (meaning you have to use a custom script) or is there a tool for it like with configuring energywise in NPM?  I'm new to this.  I've only had it configured for less than a day.

bshopp

So there are a couple things.

1. You can drill down into a port/interface in NPM that is EW Enabled and you can see a Schedule for the week of Power Settings based on what is set on the port and any defined EW Policies.  From here, if you have NCM installed you can edit setting on that switch and port.

2. If you go to Web Node Management and in the Group By select EnergyWise Enabled you can view by ports or devices/nodes and in the top toolbar there is dropdown which have additional energywise functions which take you to a GUI in NCM to enter EW values and NCM build the appropriate command to send to the device/s on the backend.

Hope that helps.  Ping me if not

denny.lecompte

Did you install the NCM integration module on NPM?  If so, then the easiest way is to go to the Node Management section of the web console. 

Go to Admin > Manage Nodes

Group by:  EnergyWise > Select one or more devices that are EnergyWise Capable

On the small menu bar above the list of nodes, you'll see "More Actions".  Click there and select "Manage EnergyWise."

damienball